Why I don't want "everyone" to buy Launch Community

Who I'm hoping will buy (and who won't)

News for humans, by humans.

  • Today's news.

  • Edited to be unbiased as humanly possible.

  • Every morning, we triple-check headlines, stories, and sources for bias.

  • All by hand with no algorithms.

(How cool is this! I scored a sponsorship for this waitlist!) 👆🏻

Welcome to the 11th edition of my Launch Community behind-the-scenes newsletter. Last week I went into detail breaking down a case study of how Erin’s waitlist blew up.

Since the initial announcement about three months ago, over 218 people have joined this waitlist for The Launch Community.

It's easy to look at a number like that and start making crystal-ball projections: "What if 30% of the waitlist buys? 40%? Can I get to 50%...?"

The pursuit of a higher conversion rate leads to everything becoming an optimization:

  • What if I add text reminders?

  • Or countdown timers in my emails?

  • How many new customers would I get if I offered a payment plan?

I'd be lying if I said to you that I didn't want this to be a big launch.

I've been working ridiculously hard these last 4 months building what I believe to be the right resource for you. Of course I want this launch to be huge – both financially, and also to justify how much time I've put into this.

But I don't want to just get as many sales as possible.

My reasoning might surprise you.

If you're selling to everyone, you're selling to no one.

It's easy to think: "I've created a private community on building a strong online brand and scoring your first digital sales. That means anyone who is a PharmD and wants to improve the trajectory of their career is in my target audience."

But I think casting such a wide net is usually a mistake. It makes your offer weak. It leads to the wrong people ending up as customers. Fewer customers become success stories.

In the past I’ve tried to be pretty selective about who I can help as a customer.

Sure, I probably could have sold more courses if I targeted everyone. Heck, maybe I'd have made double my revenue! But I'd have a lot more customer support issues, fewer success stories per student, and significantly less word-of-mouth referrals.

The long term viability and success of my business would be impaired by short term get-as-many-sales-as-possible thinking.

Be the restaurant everyone talks about.

The best restaurants have few tables, limited menus, and long waiting lists. Their customers take photos of their food, post where they're eating on social media, and tell everyone they know about where they ate.

The selectiveness of these restaurants, and their focus on a specific type of customer, means that they're able to really understand their customers and provide them with an incredible experience. They stay in business because their customers talk about them, not because they have the best logo and website.

For the kind of business I want to run, I'd rather have fewer overall customers – but I want the customers I do get to be blown away by my products.

I don't want The Launch Community to be bought by anyone who's ever had an inkling for digital creation. This isn't for "tire-kickers". I want it to be bought by people who are committed to building a brand online, and who have values that align with mine.

Who I'm selling Launch Community to:

The replies I've been getting to these behind-the-scenes newsletters have helped me figure out exactly who the course I've been working on is best for, and who really shouldn't buy.

Based on the feedback I've been getting, here's a list of who I'd like to NOT buy The Launch Community:

  • Anyone who just wants to be told exactly what to do every day, week, month, and year.

  • Anyone who has a job they loathe and are only doing this to escape that pain.

  • Anyone who wants to skip the "unfun" stuff (narrowing down the right idea, testing your hypothesis in public, really researching and understanding your customers) in favor of dopamine-boosting work ("just tell me how to get more likes!" “Tell me how to go viral!”)

  • Anyone who can't, or won't, translate what I teach into action.

  • Anyone who's too focused on tools, tech, or procedure (for example, someone who just wants a technical tutorial on how to use software or wants me to teach them how to write a privacy policy for their website.)

Throughout these emails I've been working on, I'm trying to make it super clear that you will need to do work and that buying Launch Community isn't going to suddenly make you tons of money overnight. This is not for the magical, unrealistic, overnight-success crowd.

However, if you agree to apply what I teach to your goals and your specific business, the program and community will allow you to sidestep many of the common mistakes that I see most PharmDs trying to stand out online make.

I want the right customer, because I want to know that the people who buy course are actually going to use it. I don't want it to just collect digital dust.

Hopefully this email is helpful in showing you who this is for and who it isn't for. I'll see you next Friday with another email (and in 14 days for our launch!)🚀🚀

Thanks for reading.

👋🏻 Jamie

🎥 Live meeting Replay: I met with many of you on Wednesday to provide an overview of the program and answer some common questions. Here is the replay for those who missed it. (Pro tip: watch until the very end)

You’re receiving this private “behind-the-scenes” newsletter because you’ve joined the waitlist for the Launch Community.

Missed any of my previous behind-the-scenes updates? Here they are:

I’m now in the final stages of prepping this community for release, and it will be available to buy on August 23rd, 2024.

If you're not also subscribed to my weekly Launch, already! newsletter join here. 📩

If you’d rather not get these weekly emails click unsubscribe below. 👇🏻