Why I’m Building the Launch Community

Welcome to the first official edition of my Launch Community behind-the-scenes newsletter.

This newsletter will go out every Friday to just those people on the waitlist for my upcoming private community, Launch Community. This is totally separate from The Launch, Already weekly newsletter (you’ll keep getting those weekly emails.)

Instead of just building up a waitlist and emailing everyone when the private community is available for sale, I thought I’d do something a bit different.

Between now and the release of The Launch Community on August 23rd, I’m going to share everything that’s gone into the creation of this resource:

  • Why I created the community

  • How I’ll integrate a course

  • How I decided on what I’m including (and what I’m leaving out)

  • How I’m going to price the community

  • How I settled on the additional resources and bonuses I’m adding

  • My strategy for launching

I’m sharing all of this with you because even if you’re not a creator yourself (yet), I believe that hearing about my plans for creating and selling this community – how I’m figuring out what’s going into the product, determining how I’ll price and package it, and ultimately launching it – will be super useful no matter what it is you offer your audience.

But I also want you to know just how much I’m putting into this community. I want you to see how comprehensive it’s going to be and why it’s like nothing else out there. If I can do this right and give you a lot more than just a shiny sales page to judge The Launch Community on, I know that you’ll be more likely to buy the course, apply it, and build your own thriving internet business.

That sounds like a win-win.

Today I want to start with why: Why am I working on a new private community?

“PharmD’s must get online to truly stand out in the world. When they create and leverage their own clear, strong brand they can control their future and truly help people in a more effective way.”

You’ve probably seen me write a lot of content like this. Because a successful brand, if done right, is about freedom.

The freedom to live life on your own terms, and to create great products and services that enable that freedom for you and your family.

But there’s historically been a bit of a disconnect between the courses I’ve offered and actually reaching that freedom.

Here’s the issue:

I’ve sold multiple courses in the past: Precision Medicine Hero, Digital Writing for PharmDs, Online Course Creation for PharmDs, and Starting Your Own Clinical Practice 101.

They’ve made a little over $1 million in revenue since I started in 2021. They’re great products and have helped hundreds build pieces of creating their own brand.

However…

Each is just a piece of the greater puzzle that is a shining online presence that you are successfully monetizing.

Those courses didn’t cover topics like how to pick your niche, how to name and claim that niche, digital writing works, how to start writing online, creating great offers, pricing, setting up lead magnets, business systems, profitable business principles, and more.

While I believe having an audience is a requirement for building a great online business, I haven’t built a 7-figure business simply by having a lot of followers.

I’ve built it because I’ve created the right products for my audience at the right time. And I hope to do that again here.

I’ve always suspected that making a living serving your audience is something people want to know more about, but thanks to the surveying I’ve been doing I now know they need this.

When I look at the numbers, 75% of my audience either hasn’t started yet. Of the 25% that has started the vast majority only have an LLC to their name; they’ve not been able to significantly monetize that side hustle.

That means that 3 out of 4 of you aren’t yet full-time on your business. I want to change that.

Here’s what’s held people back:

  • “Not sure what to build”

  • “Have little-to-no online presence”

  • “Need guidance and direction for how to do this”

  • “Taking the first step after thinking about doing this forever”

  • “Seriously lacking confidence that I could be successful at something like this”

This is a snapshot of the hundreds of responses I’ve received, but they’re representative of almost every reason someone’s stated they haven’t yet gone all-in on their own thing online.

“This is challenging to me. I want to make myself more marketable and be seen as a leader and not just a pharmacist.”

“Honestly, I don't know what I want to build right now. I just know that I need to be doing more. I feel satisfied on work days when I know I have really helped someone and made a difference.”

“For now, I’m just starting off in it and don’t know where to go. But eventually I feel this path will lead me to a great life and early retirement (if done correctly!).”

This is why I’m building The Launch Community.

I'm listening closely to the needs of my audience (i.e. you), analyzing what's being asked of me, and then iterating. This is exactly what I teach in the community, and it's exactly what I'm doing to make sure that the Launch Community is exactly what you need.

Today’s Action Step For You:

Here’s a great way to start the conversation around how you can determine what your audience needs from you.

Go to your audience – this could be your email list, or it might be those following you on social media, or maybe even a few DMs you fire off to peers.

Find out why they’re following you:

“How can I best help you? Mind just hitting that reply button and share with me a few words about how you think I can best help the world?”

(These are my words. Make them yours!)

If you don’t yet have much of an online following yet, ask anyone who’s ever benefited from you. This could even be your employer – why did they hire you? What expertise do you have? What unfair advantage could you use to help others?

As you start to get replies, you’ll probably notice people often say some version of the same thing.

Use what you learn to help determine what gaps there are in what you currently offer (or talk about online), and what people need from you. Chances are, you’ll find at least a niche or two buried in those replies.

If you don’t hear anything, or don’t have any followers, don’t worry. That’s kind of why you’re here. I’ll cover how to fix all of that inside of The Launch Community.

Next Week:

The next edition of this private newsletter will focus on how I decided what I should include in this community, and how I plan to make it exactly what people are looking for from me.

While I have a good idea of what I want to share with you, if there's anything about the ideation and creation of The Launch Community that you'd like me to share more about, please reply and let me know. I read every email and love alllll the feedback.

Thanks!

Jamie