9 mistakes that I see digital creators making

I’ve avoided these in creating the Launch Community

Welcome to the 3rd edition of my Launch Community behind-the-scenes newsletter. Last week I shared the outline of the community with you, and some analysis of how I settled on it.

Before I hop into teaching you the 9 mistakes, I recorded a short <3 minute video for you:👇🏻

Today I want to talk about mistakes that I see new brand builders making.

There are a lot of resources available right now. Some are fantastic and do an incredible job at transforming the businesses and lives of their students. Most don’t, however.

I take a lot of pride that more than 500 of my students have given my previous trainings excellent feedback.

This is by design. I tried my best to create incredibly powerful and transformational trainings, and I’m doing this again with the Launch Community.

There are four core components that go into any private community, like the Launch Already Community: • Content: What’s being taught? How good is the teacher at teaching? • Packaging: How is it set up and recorded? How do students consume the content? • Accountability: What about the course helps students complete and take action on it?

Confidence: Actually doing what you’ve learned.

A great community does all four really well.

So where do other digital creators go wrong? And why are there so many bad digital products out there that drop the ball when it comes to enabling student success?

Here are 9 reasons I can think of:

  1. Habits are ignored. A good training helps you set up habits to succeed and automatically become who you want to be.

  2. They don’t teach a framework. They end up teaching a mixed bag of ideas, with little to no cohesion.

  3. There’s no intended outcome. Someone could record a series of videos and technically produce a digital product, but that doesn’t mean it will transform the businesses or lives of its students.

  4. Inability to transfer complex ideas to students. We’ve all met brilliant people who can’t articulate what they know best. You’re healthcare people and you’re learning a whole new language in the digital world.

  5. Focus too much on going viral. Who cares if 1M+ see you content if it doesn’t help them. This isn’t a popularity contest and you’ve got to understand how social media numbers work so you can make them work for you

  6. The content is just anecdote. “I did this, so you can too.” A great course is going to be well-researched and include a lot of actual examples from other people and businesses.

  7. Unrealistic expectations. It’d be great if there really was a shortcut to success, but there isn’t. Some courses overpromise and let their students down.

  8. Not focused on action. A course is only successful when a student successfully acts on what’s taught.

  9. No unique application. Everyone is different. Helping people feel confident with the framework to apply it uniquely to themselves so they are confident and set up to succeed in a way that feels good for them

I’ve found it really helpful to know what I want to avoid while creating the Launch Community.

How do you set your customers up for success?

No matter what you sell, or who you sell it to, you’re going to want to make sure that you’re doing everything in your power to not only get customers, but to make your customers happier and more successful as a result of them doing business with you.

I’d love to hear more about you and what sets you apart.

What do you need help with more? The how-to or the accountability to do the thing?

Jamie